Sonne_Blau.png
Hoi Blindenschrift
K_Geba%CC%88rde_Weiss_edited.png
 
 

Visit Us!

Uhr

Monday–Friday: 9 am – 6 pm

Weekend: 9 am – 6 pm

  • Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Icon

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Who is GEORG?

GEORG has talent. GEORG awakens talent. GEORG is the mental training that prepares us for a life together. GEORG laughs. GEORG smiles. And GEORG pulls no punches. Where GEORG is, everyone, with or without disabilities, can meet. GEORG meets everyone’s needs. Because GEORG is a kiosk.

Many people live with disabilities that, on a day to day basis, push them to the edge of society. They have many abilities, some just as good as other people’s, some even better. And some specific abilities are missing, and this means that, despite their talents, they have no chance on the primary labour market. Or they are considered to be too “quirky”, so that they live amongst us without being fully included. GEORG knows about this. He is familiar with the feeling of existing physically but being ignored. GEORG is all those who want to be a part of society. And GEORG is also those given the chance to find out if they want to be a part of society.

Is it annoying if people with disabilities suddenly become visible? Who is annoyed? Who decides who should live among their “own kind” instead of having a face and a voice as a part of a community? GEORG does not decide. GEORG is here – that’s all. GEORG is diversity. And GEORG is not perfect. He keeps on learning all the time. But there is one thing GEORG is really good at: he is tolerant. He accepts people’s uniqueness. GEORG knows we are the others. The others are also us, because people cannot be standardised.

GEORG is a role model for all of us. That is why he welcomes visitors from everywhere. GEORG takes community literally – with deeds, not just with promises. Georg encourages community feeling in the neighbourhood, and at the junction between the city centre and the “Drei Weieren”. Only together can we fulfil our goals.  You are also GEORG. Welcome to the upper terminus.  

GEORG's friends

The inclusive Kiosk near the top station of the Mühlegg cable car ist run by Workaut together with special education institutions in the proximity and by volonteers from the neighbourhood..

Workaut is an organisation which has supported people with autism by consultation or by direct employment for ofer 10 years and its place of business is in St. Georgen (St. Gallen, Switzerland). The team of the company is highly experienced and innovative at the same time in order to give support to autistic people. Workaut’s goal is to meet the specific needs of their clients by improving their autonomy and their quality of living. Furthermore, Workaut offers working spaces for employees and trainees and cooperates closely with the Autismusverlag. The company currently assists about 20 people with autism at school, at work, or at their own homes. Also, Workaut is a consultant for family members, caregivers, therapists, and other persons who are interested in the topic.

 

Our cooperative partners are the CP-Schule St. Gallen and the Roth-Haus Teufen. As you can see, there are many people involved for GEORG’s benefit at both sides of the counter and lots of stories are waiting to be told. GEORG will keep on surprising you all the time. GEORG is undergoing a permanent maturing process. It’s essential for him that people stay in touch.

 

There are lots of volunteers from St. Georgen…

…whose support has been crucial to make the adventure called GEORG come true.

We are looking for even more volunteers who are committed to work at the Kiosk GEORG by the hour.

 

Are you interested in this interesting and valuable job? Please contact us at info@georgkiosk.ch.

Kaffee
Zeitung
Gipfeli
 

What we offer...

GEORG offers the typical range of kiosk goods. The choice will be well structured. As our visitor, you will enjoy both our delicious coffee and our seasonally shifting regional products.

Besuche uns!

Täglich 9.00-17.00 Uhr

  • Facebook Icon
  • Instagram Icon

Folge uns auf Facebook und Instagram!

Wer ist GEORG?

GEORG hat Talente. GEORG weckt Talente. GEORG ist die geistige Dehnübung, die uns fit macht für ein Leben miteinander. GEORG lacht. GEORG lächelt. GEORG macht ernst. Denn wo GEORG ist, treffen Menschen mit und ohne Behinderungen aufeinander. GEORG hat für alle was. Denn GEORG ist Kiosk.

Viele Menschen müssen mit Einschränkungen leben, die sie täglich an den Rand der Gesellschaft drängen. Sie können einiges, manches gleich gut wie die meisten, vielleicht sogar viel besser. Und dann fehlen ihnen ganz bestimmte Fähigkeiten, und sie haben trotz ihrer Talente keine Chance im ersten Arbeitsmarkt. Oder sie fallen sonstwie aus dem Rahmen, und leben so mitten unter uns und doch nicht mit uns. GEORG weiss das. GEORG kennt das Gefühl, da zu sein und doch nicht vorzukommen. GEORG ist all jene, die teilhaben wollen. Und GEORG ist die, die vielleicht wieder lernen dürfen, es überhaupt zu wollen.

Nervt es, wenn Menschen mit Behinderungen auf einmal zu sehen sind? Wen nervt es? Wer bestimmt, welche Menschen besser unter sich bleiben, statt hier mittendrin ein Gesicht, eine Stimme zu bekommen? Georg bestimmt nicht. GEORG ist einfach da. GEORG ist Vielfalt. Und GEORG ist nicht perfekt. GEORG lernt ständig. Aber etwas macht GEORG schon richtig gut: Er lässt den Menschen ihre Eigenarten. GEORG weiss: Wir sind auch die andern. Die andern sind auch wir, denn Menschen lassen sich nicht gleichmachen. 

GEORG ist ein Vorbild für alle. Deshalb will GEORG auch viel Besuch von überallher kriegen. GEORG nimmt Gesellschaft wörtlich und handelt. GEORG fördert die Geselligkeit im Quartier und am Verkehrsknotenpunkt zwischen Stadtzentrum und Weiern. Nur gemeinsam können wir alles. Du bist GEORG. Willkommen an der Bergstation.

GEORGs Freunde

Der inklusive KIOSK an der Bergstation der Mühlegg-Bahn wird betrieben von Workaut zusammen mit heilpädagogischen Institutionen aus der Umgebung und freiwilligen Mitarbeitenden aus dem Quartier.

Workaut ist eine Organisation mit Sitz in St. Georgen (St. Gallen), welche seit über 10 Jahren Menschen mit Autismus berät. Das ebenso innovative wie erfahrene Team unterstützt autistische Menschen – ausgerichtet auf ihre individuellen Möglichkeiten und Bedürfnisse mit dem Ziel grösstmöglicher Autonomie und Lebensqualität. Neben verschiedenen Arbeits- und Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten in der Organisation sowie in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Autismusverlag begleitet Workaut zurzeit um die 70 Menschen mit Autismus in Schule, Arbeit oder beim selbständigen Wohnen. Ausserdem berät Workaut Angehörige und involvierte und weitere interessierte Fachpersonen.

 

Unsere Kooperationspartner sind die CP-Schule St. Gallen und das Roth-Haus Teufen. Du siehst, GEORG hat nicht nur vor sondern auch hinter der Theke viele verschiedene Gesichter, viele Geschichten – GEORG wird dich überraschen, immer wieder. GEORG entwickelt sich laufend weiter und lebt davon, dass Menschen miteinander in Kontakt treten.

Herzlichen Dank geht an alle Stiftungen und Privatpersonen, die den Umbau des Kiosks finanziell unterstützt haben und an Pädi Egli vom Bahnhofkiosk Rhyner für die fachliche Unterstützung.

 

Freiwillige Mitarbeitende aus St. Georgen…

…machen das Wagnis GEORG erst möglich

Wir suchen noch mehr ehrenamtliche Mitarbeitende, die sich stundenweise im Kiosk Georg engagieren möchten.

Wer an dieser wertvollen und spannenden Aufgabe interessiert ist, meldet sich bitte unter info@kioskgeorg.ch.

 

Angebot

GEORG hat ein klassisches KIOSK-Sortiment in überschaubarer Grösse, guten Kaffee sowie ein wechselndes Angebot an saisonalen Produkten aus der näheren Umgebung.

Hier kannst Du dir das ganze Angebot runterladen. Dies ist vor allem auch hilfreich für Personen, die unterstützt kommunizieren.

Kiosk Georg Logo

Montag–Freitag 9.00-17.00 Uhr
Samstag & Sonntag 9.00 – 17.00 Uhr

info@kioskgeorg.ch

© 2020 Kiosk Georg

© Metacom Symbole: Annette Kitzinger